A rather annoying problem

Hey all, I’m not a newbie to the lucid dream scene. I’ve known about the phenomena for almost a year now. But lucid dreaming has always been the pinnacle, the holy grail. I have never been able to achieve it and it kills me. I had a stint before in which I tried my hardest, then I gave up. Now that I have more free time, I’m trying even harder, and won’t be giving up anytime soon. That being said, I encounter a myriad of problems.

Firstly, ALL my dreams are in the third perspective. In theory, it’s pretty cool because I get to watch myself have all these adventures as if I was in a movie or something. In practice however, it makes it ridiculously hard to even begin to make myself realise I’m dreaming.

Secondly, on top of that fact, my mind works in very mysterious ways indeed. I’ve realised now that I’m quite a hyperactive thinker. Even as I awake my mind races, and that makes relaxing ever so hard. I’ve tried everything, but simply can’t sleep in a way that will help me induce WILD’s. I just get stuck there, half-paralysed and wishing I could see hypnagogia.

Thirdly, I have bad dream recall. I know this can be fixed with a dream journal, which I am working on. But apart from that, I don’t know what to do. My dreams are never anywhere close to approaching vivid.

If you read all of that, then thank you! If you can provide me with any tips or tricks and hints, then I will be even more appreciate. Thanks a lot guys. :smile:

Oh, and to add to the misery of thinking too hard, I sometimes feel as if my body intentionally goes out of its way to break my paralysis. I have random twitches when I get so close, or my body will spasm in the smallest but annoying ways. Not to mention the fact that when I try to look at any fleeting hypnagogia, I look too hard or something and I strain my eyes. I’m hopeless. :L

A third perspective dream, is by technical definition, a lucid dream. Which is to say you meet the requirements of lucid dreaming.