Confused about one aspect of RCs

I understand why we use RCs. We do a simple task and if it is incredibly unusually then we are dreaming. We do this during the day to build up a habbit so we check when dreaming and realize that we are doing just that, dreaming.

What I don’t understand is when people talking about doing RCs to check if they are awake. I’m new to LDs and just plain vivid dreams in general. Do dreams really reach the point where they are as vivid as RL and we must check to see if we aren’t DREAMING?

Or have I just over analyzed this as usual…

yes they do

false awakenings - FAs are almost indistuingashable from real life sometimes, until you get up out of bed and wander around anyway.

that’s the main point when RCs are useful for me…

the other thing to consider is that the mind is somewhat illogical while dreaming, so doing RCs JUST when something weird happens doesn’t cut it, you need to just do an RC whenever you think about RCs, whenever you think about dreaming, etc… becuase in the dreaming world you might not ever question why you don’t have any pants on, or where they ran off to, but if for some reason a habit kicks in and you do an RC, all of a sudden you’ll be like “oh, this is a dream.”

I don’t get that very often because I don’t RC very often, just when I wake up from a weird dream and am uncertain of whether I’m dreaming, I should probably do it everytime I wake up/go to bed though since I dream about sleeping so much.

But dreams can be very hard to tell from real life sometimes, when they are in familiar places such as your bed, or your room.

Wow, that is fascinating. I can’t wait til my dreams reach that level of realism.

Actually, I have many lucid dreams that seem more real than RL, at least to me.

i find it so hard to imagine the reality being that big!

It’s really astounding!
i can’t believe how real it can be!

so its as if ur in the real world???

How did everyone reach this level?