Got Really Close to 1st WILD

Hello i’m a newbie to LDing and this forum, but last night i was practicing WILD, and i got really close, i had all the right milestones down like feeling a vibration and a sense of floating, , but when this started to happen my breathing got really shallow, and i felt like i would choke to death, i tried to ignore my shallow breathing as i read before that feeling a choking sensation comes naturally during WILD. But as i kept lying there i couldn’t help but control my breathing again and breathed in a big gulp of air and from there i had to quit cause i was just too tired to keep trying. Oh yeah also for a while during the choking i had a sensation like there was a big heavy hole (if it makes sense to you :tongue: ,) on my chest and lungs and it felt like it was absorbing my lungs. I guess i could i also say i couldn’t really feel my lungs at that point but i still could feel the sense of choking. So to all you veterans of WILDing, how do i get past this obstacle of shallow breathing and choking?

— and embarrassed as i am to say it, i have been practicing WILD for over 6 months now with no hint of success, well up until now :smile:

I tried WILD for the first time a few nights ago. I’m pretty much in the same situation you described. I felt some vibrations and had the sensation that I was floating, as well as the odd jerk in a muscle group (which I think is the body checking if I’m asleep yet… I did not move in the hope that I would enter SP). However, I kept getting a build up of saliva in my mouth, which I ignored but eventually made me swallow as a reflex. I had no control over it, just every 5 minutes or so my throat swallowed the saliva. Is this normal?

PS I was trying for almost exactly an hour before I gave up, the time literally flew by lol. Only seemed like 20 minutes.