I am in need of some guidance

Hey! I am quite new to lucid dreaming and I am in need of some guidance. I have always found the idea of lucid dreaming fascinating and wanted to try for myself. During my attempts I have always encountered the same problem, dreaming about being in a dream where I am lucid. I have heard that this is a good time to do realitychecks but I end up doing them, having fun in the dream then wake up in the dream thinking I had a lucid dream just to wake up once again but this time I am back to reality. Is there a proper way I can deal with this type of scenario? I usually sleep 4-5 hours and wake up to fall asleep again for another 3-4 hours. I log my dreams and try to push my hands through a wall to see if I am dreaming or not.
I also think I have experienced a lucid dream, I found an odd detail in the dream and decided to do a check. Seeing my hands warp through the wall I instantly knew I was in a dream. I was not able to change anything because this was minutes before my alarm. I am still unsure if I actually was conscious or if it was a part of the dream. I am probably missing something about the proper idea of lucid dreaming. I would love some guidance or feedback on how I should proceed.

Hi Sautekh, welcome :blush:

Back a long time ago I remember people calling this a “false lucid dream,” or FLD, although it seems like maybe FLD means something else to most people now judging by the glossary entry. Or maybe the whole LD-within-an-ND thing would be considered a specific type of FLD at this point. I used to get these sometimes when I was a teenager, although I haven’t much as an adult for whatever reason.