Meditation -- how to learn

I was just wondering… What is the best way to learn about meditation? I am just starting to learn from a book I have but I think it would be much better if I knew somebody who can give me advice. As far as I know I don’t know anyone who is interested. I don’t want to learn a specific type, I want to experience meditation from many different religions and traditions. The book I have is good and covers a wide range, but not in much detail. And a book can’t tell you where you’re going wrong. :alien:

I know there are many people on this forum who do all sorts of stuff to do with meditation, so how did you guys start off??

um, if you went wrong, post it somewhere in the Quest for Lucidity. Jeff will see it. I’m referring everyone to Jeff right now. JEFF!!

Oh, here’s a link to the only kind of meditation I can use. The rest I haven’t discovered yet or is too hard. 61 WHOLE POINTS? You get the idea.

alternative-medicine.net/med … glish.html

This one’s quite easy. I use “Lucid” instead of “Hamsa”.

Hi Fooilsh :smile:
There are indeed many forms of meditation.
They differ because of their goal but also of course share a relationship with eachother and thats consciousness…thats the crossroad where all meditation take place.

What is important, is why you want to do meditation?!
Is it for health, or no stress…to experience chi or ki flow, martial art…being free of your self, to stand in deeper contact with yourself?
That question you first have to answer foolish.

I started long ago just be sitting in nature and do it from instinct.
later i learned how to fall into a trance myself and perfected it by learning about selfhypnosis. then i also started to read about it.
What helped me also was the training from martial art…hsing I and Tai chi chuan. Tai chi meditation. I also learned and experienced there the connection between consciousness and breathing and chi/ki.
From that i also learned about chakra’s and so on.