WBTB no longer works

Well, I had my first LD in two years, out of nowhere, which got me thinking about how to go about having them intentionally again. Anyway, back two years ago I had some occasional success with the WBTB method. Problem is, it’s not working any more. At all.

Back then I was a sophomore in college with an 8:00 class MWF and no others until the afternoon. Being a night owl I’d go to bed at maybe 3 at night, then wake up, go to class, come home, and crash. I’d have an LD maybe once every 2-3 weeks under this schedule. What I just noticed is that my schedule this semester works the same way, and it hasn’t granted me any LDs. I have an 8:00 class and an 11:00 class on MWF, and some days I’ll do just what I did before: sleep 5 hours, go to class for an hour, then come back and sleep a couple more. The semester is almost over now and I haven’t gotten a single LD out of this (The one I just had was on Thursday).

So why would it just stop working like this? It’s a bit discouraging since it was the only technique I ever got to work in the first place.

No technique is guaranteed to work every single time, unfortunately. Part of it can be a change in your perspective on LD’s, your stress level, what you’re eating and any number of other factors. You’ve mentioned before that you have issues believing in MILD, so may I suggest you put a little twist on it?

Rather than tell yourself “tonight I’ll realize I’m dreaming” or something like that, try “tonight, at 4 a.m. I will do a reality check.” You see, our minds have a relatively accurate internal clock. How else can you train a soldier to wake themself up at a certain time? And, a timer is much easier to believe in than a cure-all mantra :content:. Furthermore, you don’t have to continuously repeat yourself into a circle of doubt. Just say it until you know your SC has the message.