Dealing with Intense and Disturbing Dream

Hello everyone,

I’m reaching out to this community today because I’ve been experiencing some very intense and disturbing dreams for the past couple of weeks. To give you some context: I’ve been using various drugs for the last seven years but have been completely clean for the past six months. This journey has been a significant challenge for me, and I am proud of the progress I’ve made.

However, about two weeks ago, I started having extremely vivid and unsettling dreams. In these dreams, I cause harm to others, sometimes even fatally. In a recurring dream, a person tells me they are Satan and that I summoned them. These dreams feel so real that when I wake up, I need time to realize they didn’t actually happen.

An additional aspect of these dreams is that when my body wakes up but my eyes are still closed, I find that I can control the dream. This level of lucidity adds another layer of intensity to the experience.

I’m wondering if anyone has had similar experiences and how you’ve dealt with them. Are there specific techniques or exercises that have helped you manage or reduce the intensity of these kinds of dreams? Any advice or support would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your help and support.

1 Like

Hey! Thanks for reaching out in the forum, and congratulations on your 6 months drug free! That certainly is a huge accomplishment worth celebrating, I’m proud of you!

While my history is a bit different, I did have a period of about 2 years in my life where I experienced frequent and intense unsettling dreams, a few lucid nightmares too.
For a long time I I felt so lost and confused because I couldn’t figure out why I was having dreams like that.
With time and reflection it’s quite clear to me that my dreams were reflecting my mental state at the time.