How effective is abstract problem solving in an LD?

So I’ve searched the forums for this sort of question, and although there were some relevant ones about solving math problems and stuff, none of them were quite what I was looking for.

Here’s my concern: I’m a university student studying physics, philosophy, and math. Some of the classes are quite difficult, and our weekly problem sets often take up much of my waking time. These are the sorts of problems that rarely involve any numbers, but mostly logical concepts. They’re the kind of problems that you’d have to think about for a while and come back to several times before you achieve the abstract insight necessary for the solutions. Generally it helps to sleep on the problems, so to speak.

But if I can pull off an LD, would it be effective to try and reason through the problems while I’m asleep? Doing so wouldn’t involve working out a whole lot on paper, but just conjuring up a comfortable chair and sitting down to think about the problems for a while. Is the LD environment conducive to this kind of activity, or will I be too distracted or too logically impaired to properly think?

Also, I know that LD’s should generally be used for pure enjoyment, fun, and exploration, but sometimes it helps to have a little extra time to do homework. Especially because I do like solving the problems, so the LD wouldn’t be altogether dull.