Is the East Overrated? ~ newbie here

Well, Im just a beginner here and Ive found out that there are many in this forum that state various eastern sources. Although I dont quite agree with most eastern ideals I know so far, I would like to know why some find it so attractive.

Feel free to flame or kindly explain. thx.

I don’t think easten practices are overrated but I do think many western traditions are misunderstood or confused. For example christian religious practices often involve singing when standing, insense etc to produce slightly altered brain states. Monks spending years in the contemplation of god. Traditions that talk about dreaming or religious visions induced by sleep/food/water deprevation etc.

I just think the easten practices are more true to what they are about rather than wrapping them round dogma like many western practices.

East, West, its all the same in the end.

Well, the east got a tradition in spiritual things, we don´t. Actually I am quite interested to hear about traditional “western” ways, but most of it has been abolished by the church. I am sure there have been christian monks who used LDing, but I don´t know anything about them, that´s why I need to see what the tibetans are doing.

Of course we got modern science, and I appreciate LaBerges work, but we simply lack the experience of some hundreds of years.

(btw, saying “western” I am speaking of europe, probably it´s different with americans natives)