Lack of will (or volition) in dreams

Hello from a neophyte,

I have only recently found about this forum and I am new to LD. I have quickly discovered that mere intention to remember dreams has increased my dream recall from 1-2 per month to 1-2 per night. I am concerned with a different thing, however: all my dreams seem to unwind like a movie in a cinema, like they were someone else’s – I mean I don’t really feel there’s any influence of my free will. No decisions made, no options pondered, nothing. This of course means no RC’s executed or no DS’s recognized. Even if I have flying dream I will never for a second doubt the reality of it. What can I do?

–NL

thats the most irratating thing!

I can say its largely down to practice, you either get your first LD in a couple of days or you’ll have to wait weeks.

RCs can be used in many different ways,
you can use them to check that you are dreaming when your unsure or you can do the following

do RCs in real life (IRL)
do them all the time, turn them into a habit that you dont really even think about doing, like clicking your joints
you could even assosiate doing RCs when a particular event occurs (particualy ones that happen in dreamd)
I am currently experimenting with doing an RC every time i go through a door

this is another reason why a dream journal is important, so that you can identify consistant events in your dreams which will help you do a RC

hope that helps :smile:

Ah, yes—this is probably one of the main reasons why some people find lucid dreams to be so difficult to induce in the first place! (I don’t have too much difficulty with it, but we’ll get back to that later). In nearly all of my normal dreams, and a few of my low level lucid dreams, I have no will power or decisions made at all—the dreams just continue to flow.