Nightmares?

I am new here and i am new to LD. Infact i have just heard of LD and found this website today. I realy want to have a LD and am very willing to try. But i keep having worries. For instance, I keep thinking that i might start the dream in the dark or start seeing one of my fears staring me in the face or near a corner. I have a lot of fears from Clowns to spiders to Chucky the doll to any horror movie monsters and once i get them in my head i cant get them out. I especially dont want to be alone in a room with one of them. Do you have any words of incouragement? Thanks.

This should never discourage you from LD’ing. :smile:
In my case the contrary happened: I had many fears (problem similar to you, couldn’t get it out of my head), and I was also scared of having nightmares. After I found out about LD’ing, I became more familiar with my dreams, and I haven’t had a real nightmare since then. (about year and a half ago…) And somehow after understanding that I may have control over my dreams, I’m also able to control my fears, knowing that if I really experience something scary, it’d be a dream.

I hope this will encourage you :smile: Good luck!

You can use LD’ing to stop yourself from having nightmares. And if are having a nightmare and then see a monster, you have a number of choices:

• Act towards it kindly (it’ll probably then transform into something unthreaening then)
  • Fight and kill it
  • Make it disapear

Thx to Mystic we know what sciencist say about it:

"In basic terms we can say that the appearance of a hostile, threatening DC may reflect, in symbolic form, an internal psychological conflict. The threatening character is often the personification of a 'dissociated', a 'repressed' or an 'isolated' subsystem of the personality. The effect of settling a dialogue with the DC peaceably is to cause the originally isolated system to come into communication with other systems and eventually be integrated into the total personality."