Persistent nightmares since beginning lucid dreaming

Hello all,

So I’ve known about lucid dreaming for a long time and this is not first time trying to learn, but it is my first attempt in several years. I’ve been doing WILD / MILD / keeping a dream journal / etc. for about two weeks now (no WBTB because my schedule requires me to be up at 5am four days a week and I’m incapable of sleeping before around 11pm) and pretty much every single night since I’ve started, I’ve had really, really bad dreams.

I don’t usually get nightmares and I’ve never gotten them in such direct correlation with a lucidity attempt, so I’m just wondering if it is in fact related, if this has happened to anyone else, and if so, is there a way of dealing with it? I’m not very good at all this, I haven’t quite got lucid yet, even though my dreams are getting more and more vivid as I keep a journal.

The problem with that, of course, is that my dreams are still nightmares so now I get these incredibly detailed, horribly gory dreams that I just CANNOT remember to RC in.

Any suggestions?

I don’t get nightmares much,but from what I read,just try to remember it is all in your mind.Like,remind yourself during the day.Maybe you will start realizing it is not real in your nightmares.
Good luck.

I don’t get nightmares too often, but when I do I almost always realize that they’re so. Now I don’t always have control of them, but I do sometimes.

The only advice I can give you is to try to find out what’s giving you these nightmares. Review your DJ and look for connections.

You could also try to use your persistent nightmares to your advantage. If you could come to recognize them as nightmares you could become lucid like I tend to when I have a nightmare. Obviously control is another story. Sometimes my nightmares are so bad that I intentionally try to wake myself up as fast as possible.

That’s all I could think of. Good luck.