what are dreams for?

hmm…i often feel that my dreams are real…they seem so real that i have a hard time distinguishing dreams versus reality…

but what’s the use? sometimes i would wonder what are dreams about…are they messages i need to decipher or just something to wonder about?

i studied psychology and all i remember are theories by freud and jung…i couldn’t connect the lessons into one big “aha”

even though i can have lucid dreams…i don’t see what’s the use…am i just stoic or naive?

In my case, I think they’re entertainment. I get bored very easily, so my brain understands my needs when I’m asleep.

I’m not sure they’re messages as such - maybe, but it probably depends on the person. Mostly, they seem to incorporate past events - for instance, if I watch a Japanese movie before going to bed, there will probably be something Japanese in the dream that night. Or if I come across a new idea, it will most likely pop up in my dreams before long.

Mind you, I noticed that recently I’ve been doing a lot of inventing in my dreams, and if I was more of a hands-on, practical person with access to materials, I think I could make some of those things in real life, or at least imitate them to a realistic extent. So dreams can also give you plenty of ideas with which to be creative, too.

My guess is that dreams help keep the brain awake like a screensaver for your computer monitor. I think it could be unheathy if we didn’t have dreams just like a monitor displaying the same image too long gets wrecked

Dreams are (if i remember this right) kind of like a ‘processing programme’ which your brain undertakes every night. Indeed, people who have less REM sleep(because of sleep apnea, drugs, whatever) are less rested when they wake up.
Some people even consider dreams to be a ‘garbage disposal’ for the memories of the day, and that they ought not to be remembered :tongue: