Why are my dreams getting more fantasy based?

Ok I’m not sure if anybody really will have a answer but maybe you might. I have no background story, I don’t really watch/read any fantasy things so it cannot be related to intreast in fantasy. Recently I have noticed that fantasy is becoming increasingly frequent in my dreams, nearly all the time. Where before it was mainly ‘life’ dreams about stuff that is happening to me and sometimes what I was thinking about that day. But now fantasy is all I get, not that that’s bad actually it makes my dreams more enjoyable, you know the ones that aren’t lucid :smile:

But also something strange happened last night. A while ago on tv there was a theory that life was simulated like the sims. Now I don’t even believe in this theory but I had a strong vivid dream about it where just above the sea the sky started stretching and ripping and the matrix thing appeared in the sky and there was like a end of the world thing that I escaped and all of it was a hoax in the end, but that’s not the point don’t you see… My dreams are really interesting, what happened? Does anybody have a explanation?

You know the meaning of your dreams best, but I would say that if you’re tracking your dreams more often (writing them down in a journal and listening to them and acting on them) then your dream content could be shifting because you’ve assimilated the lessons of the “life” dreams you’d be having.

Everyone, even people who lucid dream everyday, still have “life” dreams because a part of dreaming is processing events from the day (moving memories into long-term storage). But, I have noticed too that if I pay attention more to my dreams, my dreams change.

Why do we stop having the same nightmares when we finally become lucid inside them and face the enemy? I guess, because we “got” whatever our mind was trying to tell us or process.