Anyone had a DC tell them they're dreaming?

So.

The other night, I had a dream that I was in math class with some friends. (I graduated about a month ago). So anyways, I’ve known about LD’s for a few years now, but I don’t make much of an effort to induce them on my own (if they happen, they happen- and they have a handful of times).

Anyway though, so I’m in this dream and a girl in the class walks up to the chalkboard and writes the message “You are dreaming.” At that point I reached lucidity, but it was pretty short-lived and I awoke soon after.

But, it felt odd that a DC explicitly told me I was dreaming, felt unusual. Is it?

I always like to think that there is a conscious me (the sentient being typing before you), and a subconscious me (one in charge of the background processes and natural things). In dreams, considering the fact that more often than not I am non-lucid, I like to think that it is that subconscious component that is regulating my dreams (trying its best to make the dream as realistic as possible, so that I don’t attain lucidity), whereas the conscious me is just experiencing the dream; playing out the story written by the subconscious if you will. So… why would my subconscious tell me that I was dreaming? It wasn’t voluntary- I wasn’t thinking about lucidity or anything before she wrote the message on the board (and likely wouldn’t have become aware if not for it). So… what gives?

:confused:

Moved from QFL to General Lucidness, topic title changed from “question…” to “Anyone had a DC tell them they’re dreaming?” for clarity. :dragon:

I have not had it happen to me, but I know it has happened and isn’t that rare of an occurrence to others.

I can’t think of any scientific reason except maybe (For whatever reason.) your brain was proccessing a thought about lucid dreaming or about dreams themselves. Perhaps she could of wrote any word on that board and you were lucky and got “dream”.