Remembering dreams for a DJ

Hi everyone! I’ve lurked around here for a while, but i’m just now really starting my quest to lucidity. As I’ve read pretty much everywhere, a DJ is key. I’ve been trying to start one, but I honestly don’t remember a thing about any dreams I have over the night.
I’ve tried going to sleep with the intention of remembering my dreams, but that hasn’t helped much. I’ll have instances where i’m going about my daily life and something will trigger a faint memory (faint as in a smell of something will remind me that I dreamed the night before, or a topic in conversation will sounds oddly familiar to me), but i’m nowhere near my dream journal and I’ve forgotten it by the time I return home.
So I guess my main question is: What are your tips for starting to remember my dreams?

Moved from Quest for Lucidity :tardis:

I’m no expert, but I’ve been able to bring my DR up to 2 per night. Honestly, for me, it just took time (I’m talking a few months). Try setting your alarm clock to 5 hours and 45 min after you go to sleep (various times work) or 90 min before you get up. Wake up then, and only think about lucid dreaming and remembering your dreams, then go back to sleep.

Best is to put a note by the side of your bed to help you remember remember!

Thanks! I’ll try that for a while and see how that goes :smile:

This seems to work pretty well for me too, with a slight variation. For example, I wake up a few times on my own throughout the night, but if you don’t then trying an alarm clock at various intervals should do the trick.

Another trick that may help is to lie completely still right after you wake up and think back to what you were just dreaming about. It does take some practice, but in my experience it’s definitely worth it :content:. You may also want to check out the dream recall tutorial for some more ideas. Good luck!