Sleep paralysis and ominous presence

Hello everybody.

I think I had an OBE and since I’m a total noob it scared me a great deal. I’d like to point out that I didn’t try to induce it whatsoever (I wouldn’t even know how to do it) and in general I don’t know much about OBEs, so here it goes.

I went to sleep at 10 pm (i know cause I texted my gf goodnight at that time), then I woke up at 2.30 am to drink some water. I went back to sleep immediately thereafter and had a number of normal dreams (I can remember all my dreams very easily).

After one of these dreams I became very aware of my body, in the sense that I could see both it and the room in the darkness as if my eyes were open (not from above: from my normal sleeping position). I sleep on my back with my arms crossed on my chest. My body was incredibly heavy, like if it was made of stone, and even if I felt very awake I didn’t have any control on it.

The part that scared me is this: I heard quick steps approaching me in the darkness. I didn’t see anything but I knew in my bones that there was something lurking there in the darkness. I panicked and tried to move my body to run, but I couldn’t. I was petrified, completely paralyzed. So with an extreme effort I tried to move my right arm. I thought I succeeded in doing so, but when I watched at my chest there were both my arms crossed as usual. In the trajectory through which I thought I released my arm there was a silver trail and my arm as if it was made of a silver fog.