What Are These Trust Levels And How Do I Earn Them?

Trust Level 0 — Just Arrived

By default, everyone who signs up for an account start out at trust level 0, meaning trust has yet to be earned.

At this level you cannot yet

  • Send personal messages to other members
  • Flag posts
  • Post more than 1 image
  • Post any attachments
  • Post more than 2 hyperlinks in a post
  • Have links in the ‘about me’ field of your profile
  • Mention more than 2 members in a post
  • Post more than 3 topics
  • Post more than 10 replies
  • Edit your own posts after more than 24 hours
  • “Reply as new topic” via the “Link” button

Trust Level 1 — New Member

Get to trust level 1 by…

  • Entering at least 5 topics
  • Reading at least 30 posts
  • Spending a total of 10 minutes reading posts

When you are at trust level 1, all restrictions that you had in level 0 are removed and new abilities added.

  • Send PMs
  • Upload images and attachments
  • Edit wiki posts
  • Flag posts
  • Mute other members

Trust Level 2 — Member

Earn trust level 2 by:

  • Visiting at least 15 days (doesn’t need to be sequentially)
  • Replying to at least 3 different topics
  • Entering at least 20 topics
  • Reading at least 100 posts
  • Spending a total of 60 minutes reading posts

At trust level 2 you can…

  • Use the “Invite others to this topic” button
  • Send Private Messages to multiple members (group PM)
  • Like more posts (the daily like limit is increased by 1.5×)
  • Ignore other users
  • Edit your own posts without any time limit

Trust Level 3 — Regular

To earn trust level 3, in the last 100 days you need to have:

  • Visited at least 50 of days
  • Replied to at least 10 different topics
  • Viewed 25% of new topics created (capped at 500)
  • Read 25% of new posts created (capped at 20k)
  • Received 20 and given 30 likes.
    These likes must be across a minimum number of different users (1/5 the number), across a minimum number of different days (1/4 the number).
    Likes cannot be from PMs.

You must not have:

  • Received more than 5 flags for spam or offensive posting. (This goes for unique posts and unique members for each and should be confirmed by a moderator)
  • Been suspended or silenced

Furthermore, unlike other trust levels, you can lose trust level 3 status . If you dip below these requirements in the last 100 days, you will be demoted back to Member. However, in order to avoid constant promotion/demotion situations, there is a 2-week grace period immediately after gaining Trust Level 3 during which you will not be demoted.

At trust level 3

  • You can recategorize and rename topics
  • You can make a wiki of your posts
  • When you flag a post as spam of a Just Arrived Member (TL0), their post will immediately be hidden.
  • Flags from TL3 members cast on TL0 members posts (in sufficient diversity) will auto-silence them and hide all their posts.
  • Your daily like limit is increased by 2×
  • You get the key to the secret VIP lounge.

Trust Level 4 — Leader

Trust level 4 can only be attained through manual promotion by Staff.

Leaders can…

  • Edit all posts
  • Pin/unpin topics
  • Close topics
  • Archive topics
  • Make topics unlisted
  • Split and merge topics
  • Reset a topic’s bump date
  • Immediately hide any post by flagging them
  • Like more posts (daily likes increased 3x)
1 Like