Newbie advice: Helpful hints for aspiring Lucid Dreamers III

[mod]This topic is made in order to collect the tips and hints you find useful for beginners. Thus feel free to add your own tips!

It means that all posts like : Do you have any tips on how to get started? will be locked and directed to this one.
It means too that it’s not the place for beginners general questions and they will be splitted from this topic.

Part I of this topic can be found in the archive, here!
Part II
[/mod]

Hello,

I am quite new to lucid dreaming. I just started my “Quest for Lucidity”. From what I’ve read writing my dreams into a dream journal is the first step. I’ve already done that in the middle of last year but eventually gave it up. Now I want to start it again but I have the following problem:

I’m a student and have to get up at 6 o’clock every day (except for the weekend, of course). An alarm clock wakes me and the first thing I do is switching it off. But then I almost always have forgotten my dream(s).

Does anybody know how to improve my dream recalling skills despite the obstacle the alarm clock poses.

Thanks.

You may want to setup a light on a timer that will go off before your alarm that will gradually increase in luminosity. This will gently stimulate your senses and allow you to wake up without the panic of the alarm clock. As an added benefit, you will be able see what you are writing in your dream journal. Good Luck!

Thank you very much. That’s a cool idea. I’ll try to find equipment and set this up.

Hi… I’ve been wishing to have a LD for a while now and I am hoping that VILD will work for me. So far it hasn’t, but I got really close once. My legs felt heavy and numb and I felt tired and awake at the same time. I saw flashing blue lights and I was aware of them but I lost focus there and opened my eyes.